Entrants 2016


Teaming up together for this classic offshore event is well known yachtsman Craig Middelton and Herbie Karolius. Between the two of them they bring a wealth of knowledge in offshore racing and having successfully skippered Merlin in the Fastnet Race,Craig is no stranger to offshore racing as well as having achieved a formidable result in the previous Mossel Bay Race on board …

Rocket Read More »


Shadowfax will be skippered by Bernard Farmer, and crewed by her normal race crew from RCYC. She is a Charger 33, and has participated in all Cape events in the last few seasons. She has just returned from Vasco 2016, where she completed the race in the IRC division.

‘Nuthr Witch

‘Nuthr Witch will be crewed by her regular racing team, that have enjoyed success local in club racing events. The crew is very keen to compete in this prestigious offshore regatta.

Sophie B

Her current owners (Tom and Harry Moultrie) bought her in 2014 to campaign in the 2016 Cape to Rio race. She will be racing the 2016 Mossel Bay Race with her Rio-bound crew of four: Tom Moultrie, Harry Moultrie, Petri Salonen, and Eric Goemaere.


Current owner Kevin Webb and co-skipper Sarel van der Merwe with regular Crew Brad Stemmett are all fierce competitors in other sailing disciplines, including dinghy’s, racing catamarans, H23’s and even radio controlled model yachts – but on Banjo we are a team with a mission – to have as much fun as possible, as fast and safe as possible!


Team Vulcan, who sails for Royal Cape Yacht Club, is the current IRC 1 South African Champions; their latest venture including the conversion from inshore racer to offshore racer will be to compete in the Mossel Bay Race and the Cape to Rio yacht race.


Nitro was purchased by Mike Hayton in 2014. He quickly assembled a top notch team to campaign her on the IRC circuit in the Western Cape. Nitro has enjoyed many successful regattas, and has won the IRC Cape Sailing circuit for the 2015/2016 season, winning 3 out of the 5 regattas, including the Mykonos Offshore regatta twice in a row.

Scroll to Top